305 E. Madison

Berryville, Arkansas 72616

The City of Berryville is governed by a Mayor and Council form of government which is most common with municipalities in the state of Arkansas.  Mayor McKinney has already been introduced on the "home" page of our site.  The following are the Alderpersons and their respective wards.  For contact information for your Alderperson, please call The Mayor's office at 870-423-4414.   

City Government

Joel Gibson - Ward 1, Position 1    
Max Nichols - Ward 1, Positon 2
Linda Riddlesperger - Ward 2, Positon 1  
Cindy George - Ward 2, Postion 2   

Berryville, Arkansas is the county seat of Carroll County.  According to the 2010 Census, Berryville has a population of 5356 and the  county population is approximately 27,446.

Berryville was founded in 1850 by Blackburn Henderson Berry of Alabama and incorporated on March 23, 1876. Interestingly, Mr. Berry and Arthur A. Baker, a blacksmith, both thought of founding a town at about the same time.  Berryville was chosen over the name Bakersville by the toss of a coin.  For more interesting facts on the history of Berryville, visit encyclopediaofarkansas.net and put berryville in the search box.

         Berryville City Hall

The historical building which is now City Hall was originally the home of Colonel Charles Burton (Buck) Saunders.  Colonel Saunders not only donated this building to the city but also the contents of the Saunders Museum as well as the funds to build it.

Berryville Public Square, Circa 1890

© Copyright, City of Berryville, 2014